Berserk: Golden Age Arc III Ending Song – “Breakthrough” by Kaname Kawabata (Lyrics translation)

blackswordsman

Below you will find my translation of the lyrics to the song “Breakthrough” by Kaname Kawabata (from the duo Chemistry), played during the ending of the third and final Berserk: Golden Age Arc movie. I know Commie has already translated it, but I wanted to do my own version, because it’s a good song, and also because Berserk is one of my favorite things ever. I didn’t actually read Commie’s translation before I started working on mine in order to avoid being influenced by their version.

Original:

モノクロームの風景は 絵のように動かない
道なき路上(みち)を見渡せど 行き交う人影はない

I can’t stay in those days
砕け散った希望なら
そのすべて いっそこの胸に掻き集め
I’m goin’ to my breakthrough

真っ直ぐな瞳で 痛みさえ引き連れ
駆け出せば もう戻れない
決して止まらないで 選ばれた場所まで
その先は… nobody knows

ともに刻んだ時が今 結ばせた尊い絆
消せない傷に 閉じ込めた叫びが聞こえてるかい?

I can’t stay in those days
怯えなくていい もう
奪い取って 翳す勲章よりも
守るべき たったひとつの truth

もっと高い方へ 微かでも光へ
届くまで もう戻らない
剣先(きっさき)を奮わせ 聳(そび)える壁の前
運命を断ち切るのさ

真っ直ぐな想いで 試された命で
駆け出したい 終わらせはしない
決して止まらないで 選ばれた場所まで
その先は… I only know

Translation:

A monochrome landscape stretches out before me, still as a painting
Not a soul disturbs this aimless path I tread as I turn my gaze to look

I can’t stay in those days
Should my hopes come crumbling down,
let them well up once more within my breast
I’m goin’ to my breakthrough

With eyes unfaltering, I carry on with my pain
Once I’ve set out, there’s no turning back
Never stopping, not till I reach the place I long for
And what lies beyond there… nobody knows

Our dearest bonds – moments etched upon the face of time
Does my scream reach your ears, locked in wounds unfading?

I can’t stay in those days
There is nothing more to fear
The one and only truth, nobler even than
all the honors claimed and held high

I shall not return till I bask in the glimmer
of that light, fickle it may be
I shall stand before towering walls, with steel held high
And sever the strand of fate

With a soul tried in hardship, and feelings pure,
I wish to break free – I won’t let this be my final chapter
Never stopping, not till I reach the place I long for
And what lies beyond there… I only know

4 thoughts on “Berserk: Golden Age Arc III Ending Song – “Breakthrough” by Kaname Kawabata (Lyrics translation)

    • Haha yeah, I know what you mean. I’m kinda torn about it – on the one hand I enjoy the story and characters enough to want it to continue on for years, on the other hand I really want to see how it’s all going to end.

    • You mean Kimi to Kanojo to Kanojo no Koi? I don’t know much about it honestly, but if it’s the kind of game I think it is (dark, disturbing and filled with yandere), then yes, I am going to play it eventually.

Leave a Reply

